The women of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® are known for soaring to greater heights of sisterhood and service, so it is no easy task to single out one member for her accomplishments and contributions to the sorority.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® Beta Chi Omega Chapter celebrated nine members who have gone above and beyond the call of duty, honoring them through Beta Chi Omega’s annual awards program. The award recipients were announced at Beta Chi Omega’s December chapter meeting, capped off with the presentation of the Beta Chi Omega Woman of the Year Award to Adriane Tasco.

The 2022 awardees are:

*Unsung Pearl Award: Carolyn Glover


*Sisterly Excellence Award: Patricia Baker


*Ivy Inspirational Award: Maxine Joiner-Wright


*Superior Service Award – Chapter/Regional: Katina Hamlar


*Superior Service Award – Community: Carla Lewis


*Founders Award: Cleopatra Kitt


*Ethel Hedgemon Lyle Leader Award: Charysse Hairston


*Lucy D. Slowe Exceptional Leadership Award: Gaynelle Pearson


*Beta Chi Omega Woman of the Year: Adriane Tasco

This year’s award recipients embody Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated’s® mission to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship among women, to study and help alleviate problems concerning girls and women to improve their social stature, and to be of “Service to All Mankind.”